Indiana Citizens Redistricting Commission holding 2nd District hearing

The Indiana Citizens Redistricting Commission (ICRC) will hold its Congressional 2nd District hearing virtually from 7 to 9 PM on Tuesday, March 30. Members of the public are invited to attend.

The nine-member commission was formed to demonstrate that redistricting can be done by a diverse and multi-partisan team of Hoosiers in a transparent process that encourages public participation – and that it will yield Congressional and state legislative districts that are better for voters.

The public may attend and tell commissioners what they want from their new Congressional and state legislative districts. The ICRC has been assembled by All IN 4 Democracy, a coalition of organizations working for redistricting reform, including the League of Women Voters of Indiana. The maps drawn up by the commission will be submitted to the state legislature once U.S. 2020 Census Data has been approved.

The District 2 commissioner for this “let’s-show-them-how-it-can-be-done” effort is Ranjan Rohatgi, an assistant professor of mathematics at Saint Mary’s College who has developed a course titled “The Mathematics of Voting.”

How to attend

You can register for the Zoom session by visiting and clicking on “See Hearing times and register” (in red letters), and then on March 30, District 2.

About the 2nd District

Indiana’s 2nd Congressional District includes Elkhart, Fulton, Marshall, Miami, Pulaski, St. Joseph, Starke, and Wabash counties. It also includes portions of Kosciusko and LaPorte counties. Jackie Walorski is the current representative.

Tags: , , , ,